HSF #14 – The Bobby Soxer Plaid Skirt

My contributions to the Historical Sew Fortnightly are sporadic at best. This summer has been much busier than I originally intended. Which means I did a lot of awesome things but not as much sewing as I wanted. And what sewing did get done, wasn’t faithfully blogged about. School starts back in a few weeks, which may slow down the sewing but improve the blogging.

I still need pictures for Challenge 13 and a non challenge sewing project, but they’re coming I promise.

For now, I’ve got Challenge 14 photographed and ready to be posted.

I mentioned a while ago that I had gotten some amazing fabric for cheap at a local thrift store. Now you finally get to see some of it. One of the fabric lengths was a 33″ x 1.7 yd piece of black and white plaid. I paid $2 for it, so technically it could also count for the Under $10 Challenge. However I actually made a dress specifically for that challenge with another $2 thrift store fabric purchase.

I had a cute vintage pattern in my collection that I bought at the same thrift store for $0.50. As you can clearly see from the oxfords this was designed to appeal to the young bobby soxer, a term that started to circulate in the early 1940s. Perhaps even the beginner sewer who was trying to prepare her wardrobe for her college days. The pattern also features the option for a “slide fastener” with no directions or snaps and hooks with very detailed instructions. Clearly the pattern maker wasn’t completely on board with the whole zipper thing yet. There is an ebay guide to helping date Simplicity patterns that match up with my guessed dating.

DSCN0411

The only problem was that it was a pattern that was 7″ too small in the waist. That and the fact that the original pattern didn’t have any fabric measurements listed on the envelope for if you only wanted to make the skirt. The closest I could get was the jacket and the skirt together, which for the pattern size (the too small one) required about 3.5 yds of fabric. But being the daring and adventurous person that I am, I decided, what the heck. I’ll start cutting and see what happens. As I cut, I added 0.6″ to each seam, crossing my fingers that my math skills were accurate.

I lucked out and I had just enough fabric to squeeze out a skirt. This is how much fabric I had left over after I was done.

for blog 3

I originally wanted to do pattern matching so that my skirt looked more like some of the ones I found online.

f171877f60ee3bb20cad4b82c57b5b20 c6919aa63fb37e95f9844dd4aecc359a

I especially loved the inverted V skirts. But I comforted myself that there were skirts that had plaids on the straight and more restrained pleats.304761c215e0896ae71bbbeca28582dc

 

Here’s my version. I almost had enough to get inverted pleats going, but if it was going to actually fit my body, I had to let it go.

for blog 2

The only change I made to the original pattern was that I didn’t follow the instructions on how to construct the waistband, because honestly it didn’t really make sense. I debated how I wanted to sew it and decided I liked how it looked with black bias tape.

for blog 1

The Challenge: Paisley and Plaid

Fabric: Black and white plaid of mystery fiber content, but based on the itchiness of the fabric there’s at least some wool in it.

Pattern: Simplicity Printed Pattern 1740

Year: 1944ish

Notions: black thread, black bias tape, a green zipper, 2 hooks and eyes, and one snap

How historically accurate is it? The zipper is plastic so that takes some out, but I’d say 80%.

Hours to complete: 13 hours?

First worn: For pictures, it’s still reaching up into the 100s here in sunny Florida, so a skirt with wool in it just isn’t something I can wear practically right now. But it will certainly get wear come fall/winter.

Total cost: $2 for fabric, $2 for a zipper, and I already had snaps, hooks and eyes, and thread.

Leave a Reply

