HSF #3 – Pink – The Pink Tasseled Garters

After the difficulties I had last challenge, I was determined that this one would go easier. That this would be a small, easy project. One that I could work in the midst of my frantic preparations for Olustee. And I achieved a modicum of success. I know the last post was a bit monstrous in length, so I’m going to try and keep things fairly succinct.

I was inspired by this picture of a knit pair of garters.

Civil War Garters

Those garters were knit by World Turn’d Upside Down and are based on an 1862 pattern from Godey’s pattern.

Godey's New Style of Garter

Starting out this project I had a few limitations. Such as the fact I don’t actually knit. However, after consulting with the great and all knowing internet gods I was able to come up with a plan of attack. I dug around in my yarn stash and came up with a hot Barbie pink and two very soft pastels. I went with the soft pink that was thin and most likely a wool/cotton blend of some sort and an appropriately sized D crochet needle.

After I finished, I again consulted the internet gods and found a lovely tassel tutorial.

For those interested, here’s the pattern I used.

Row 1: ch 7
Row 2: turn, skip 1 ch, half double crochet 6 times, ch 1
Row 3-54: turn, 6 hdc in the back loop, ch 1 (it took me to row 54 to get the length I needed to fit around my healthy lower thigh, add or subtract from here as needed)
Row 55-62: turn, 3 hdc (continuing to crochet in the back loop for the entire garter), ch 1
Join the end with the empty place that was created when you switched to 3 hdc. Weave in your end bits, follow the instructions for making a tassel, attach it, and tada!

DSCN0126

 

 

While they’re not exactly the same as the knit versions. They’re about as close as I can get without learning how to knit. 
DSCN0137

 

I currently don’t actually have anything for them to hold up, so I’m postponing modeling them.

The Challenge: Pink

Fabric: A pale pink wool yarn.

Pattern: Based on an 1862 pattern from Godey’s.

Year: 1862

Notions: Self made tassels in matching pink yarn.

How historically accurate is it? I’d say pretty accurate, if you ignore the fact that most women knew how to knit in 1862. But let’s pretend that there were some women out there who were so terrible at knitting that they preferred to crochet instead. In that case it’s wonderfully accurate!

Hours to complete: I’d say about two hours.

First worn: I wore them to make sure they’d stay up well enough. But I’ll wear them for real this weekend.

Total cost: I purchased the yarn when I was living in South Korea a few years ago, if I remember correctly I bought two skeins of this yarn for $1.00.

2 thoughts on “HSF #3 – Pink – The Pink Tasseled Garters

  1. Cassie S. February 15, 2014 at 6:59 pm Reply

    Great job! Love them!

    Thanks for the history on them!

    Cassie
    Fellow HSF Sewer

  2. kurajane March 3, 2014 at 3:57 am Reply

    neat! Love your explanation on the historically accurate part (I can’t knit either)

Leave a Reply

