Belated Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Christmas and that the coming year is even better.

My younger sister, a friend/fellow teacher, and I decided to spend our New Year’s Eve at a (to quote the promotional material) “Gatsby Themed Event, where costumes are encouraged”. Seeing as how I normally watch New Year’s celebrations on TV with my mom, I was very excited. Mostly because I already had a flapper outfit all ready to go. A high school friend had a 1920’s themed bachelorette party in November, for which I hacked a flapper dress from a cast off graciously donated by my mother. Now normally I’d be a little self-conscious about the fudging I did as far as historical accuracy goes, but because neither the bachlorette party, nor the New Year’s party even pretend to expect anything but a nod to the 20’s, I feel pretty satisfied with the results.

Basically I took a plus size, black sheath dress made of a lovely acetate, rayon, and spandex blend, chopped material off at the side and back seams until I was happy with the way it fit me, and french seamed it. And for those curious, yes that was a mostly sincere lovely. Despite a lot of the negative things I read online about this blend, it was actually fairly easy to work with once I figured out I needed a stretch fabric needle to sew with. Then, because the dress was designed to hit above the ankle, I cut about six inches off the bottom, and turned the hem once to to sew. Because apparently this lovely fabric does fray that badly (or so I’ve been led to believe). I originally wanted to sew feathers around the skirt to create a dropped waist look, but between my cat’s love for eating feathers and the fact I couldn’t find any at my local craft store, I nixed that idea. Instead I decided on the fringe look with a beaded ribbon to accent the dropped waist. My first fringe estimate was too conservative and I also ended up taking the wrong hip measurements for the ribbon. So I went back a second time to get the rest of what I needed. I did manage to get just enough fringe but sadly there wasn’t any more of the ribbon I needed. In the end I think I’m happier with the way it turned out.

IMG_20131231_193507_999

 

Please excuse the college apartment decor behind me.

Because we were having a fabulous time, this is the only decent photo of me in the dress. It’s hard to see it, but I’m also wearing a sparkly feathered hairpiece. I found a rhinestone broach and glued a bunch of black feathers into a swoopy design on the pack of it, then just bobby pinned it in.

Leave a Reply

